I Lent My Cupcakes

As is likely simple to guess based on my blog’s title and description, cupcakes. are. my. JAM!  However, I gave up my cupcakes (actually, ALL sweets) for Lent, and I’m not even counting down the days!!  So, I honestly have no idea that there are only 30-ish more days left.  (It’s the “ish” that really sells it, that makes it seem like I’m not counting).  However, though I joke, I’m really not.

So, why did I choose sweets?  Well, anyone who practices Lent knows that what we choose to give up should not be easy; it’s a sacrifice.  Though I am not Catholic and associate with no particular denomination, I practice Lent because I think it is important for my own well-being.  During February, I completely removed soda from my diet, and I LOVED soda (and YES, that is past tense).  But I digress!  Soda has always been my go to give up for Lent, but it is no longer a viable option.  My other great love: BOOKS.  However, I could not project any feasibility in giving up books, especially when I constantly read for work.  Finally, it came down to cupcakes, and not entirely happy with that, I broadened my decision to all sweets.

I do not consume cupcakes nearly as often as I once did.  Formerly, I would buy a single cupcake every time I went to the grocery store, and I have proudly broken myself of that habit.  I was justifying the cake of the cup variety as my reward for adulting and getting the food shopping done.  However, the cupcake has truly become a once in a while treat.  Since I do not like pie or cheesecake, and I am lukewarm toward donuts, I have been envisioning myself as a casual candy consumer . . . until recently.  As of late, I noticed that I had started to grab a piece of candy from the community candy basket multiple times a day, I was eating M&Ms from the vending machine, I would not settle for my usual, one sliver of cake served for special occasions …

So, I am nipping the behavior in the bud before it becomes problematic.  It has been difficult at times, but I have yet to be tempted to the point of succumbing.  Working in a police department, we have sweets and junk food coming in nearly twenty-four hours a day.  So, it was a good choice in that I have truly been challenged!  To be face-to-face with delicious cookies and cakes and even the cupcakes I have always so coveted, it has forced me to make better decisions food wise.  Lent has given me perspective in how picking up a donut or a cookie had become almost reflexive.

Author: idiosyncraticunicorn

I'm a naturally quirky Mainer with a dork side! I'm an avid snail mailer, bibliophile, musician, crafter, and runner/athlete. My favorite things in life: CUPCAKES, books, knee socks, the color pink, Kawaii, platypi, unicorns, anchors, and mermaids. When I'm not reading a book or writing, I can be found doing girly stuff like stacking wood or building rock walls; I'm versatile. Following me around, in all of my endeavors, is my dog shadow, Radin. It is rare to see me without a smile on my face. Currently striving to be the best me I can be!

Leave a Reply

